A Gradient for PCOS Awareness Month

Hello dear readers!

Today, I am dedicating my post to Norelis, one of my fellow Twinsies and a friend, and joining with her to raise awareness for a relatively unknown yet very real health problem.

PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) is one of the most common female endocrine disorders, and while the rate affecting women of 5-10% may seem small, that is a LOT of women. Left untreated, it can lead to heart disease. We need to get the word out, and every woman should be checked if she displays the common symptoms.

So, like I said, I wanted to join in on kicking off PCOS Awareness Month with a mani featuring their colours, teal and white! I am very inexperienced at gradients…and while these were 2 stark colours to attempt this with (I just did freehand, not the tutorial by the Nailasaurus that everyone swears by), I think it turned out pretty good! What do you think?

Indoors, no flash.

Flash.

I used China Glaze White on White as my base, and Mermaid by GAP for the gradient, and just sort of painted it on. Sure, it could have a better gradient where they meet, but I like it!

Want some links to find out more, or see how you can help?

http://www.pcoschallenge.com/ – Support System to help women with PCOS
Thanks so much for reading! If this info can help even one woman out there, then it is a great start.
xo, ~t

 

 

24 thoughts on “A Gradient for PCOS Awareness Month

  1. This is absolutely gorgeous! I love this gradient and I need to go to the GAP to find this! Thank you so much for your support my dear it means so much!!! <3 btw hope you are having tons of fun in VEGAS!!! WOOO!

  2. Thanks for posting this, Tara! I also have PCOS, and thankfully it seems to be under control right now, but I always like seeing the word get out about it. Also, the gradient rocks ;) xoxoxox

    • Aww sweetie I had no idea! I’m so glad you have it under control and also have that beautiful little girl also (doesn’t it make it really hard to conceive?). <3

What do YOU have to say about this?